Skip to main content
Thursday, October 1, 2020

Pro Pulling Nationals Declares Class Champions for 2020

Charlestown, IN (October 1st, 2020) – Lucas Oil Speedway, The Diamond of Dirt Tracks in Wheatland, Missouri provided the perfect backdrop for the General Tire Pro Pulling Nationals presented by K&N Filters, after what had been a decidedly imperfect season of truck and tractor pulling. Two nights of action started on Friday September 25 with four classes deciding their points champions that evening.

In the Friday session, two Champions Tour classes declared their champions; in the ARP Lightweight Super Stock division Terry Blackbourn and the Armed and Dangerous – Excessive Force CaseIH captured the points title and took it back home to Shullsburg, Wisconsin for Team Chizek. Brice Terry and the Too-Hystrung Allis-Chalmers was the event winner in Wheatland, besting the efforts of nineteen other competitors. Dillon Bunnage and the Phoenix machine were the victors in Mini-Rod, while Bruce Slagh was declared the 2020 points champion aboard the Show No Mercy machine. Silver Series standout Justin Wagler continued his domination in Limited Pro Stock, clinching the win and a decisive points championship. In the AirDog® Limited Pro Stock Diesel Truck class, part of the Champion Seed Western Series, Adam Kincaid took the win in the Hill Bros. Dodge with Matt Poduska notching the class points championship in the Bad Company Dodge.

Saturday’s session was an all-Champions Tour affair with high drama in several classes. This round of competition kicked off with the Unlimited Super Stock class fielding 10 stout entries. Josh Blackbourn took a late hook to the win on the Armed and Dangerous – International Threat CaseIH while a fifth-place finish sealed the points championship for Jeff Hirt and his Runnin’ Bare CaseIH. Super Farm Tractor action was the closest of all the points battles with a three-way tie at the top coming into Wheatland. Three competitors, Josh Miley (High Maintenan$e CaseIH), defending champ Chuck Guentenberg (Positive Ground IH), and Shane Masten (Thumpin Punkin AGCO) all had their shot for the title, with Miley emerging as the overall champion based on his second-place finish in the class. Jeremy Roberts and his Wicked Whitetail JD was the event winner in Wheatland which propelled him into the second-place spot in the final points calculations.

Eight roaring Super Modified Tractors were put to the test by one of the excellent Bungart X-Factor sleds in Wheatland with a pair of veteran pullers sitting at the top of the heap. Keith Long was the event winner on the Lucas Oil machine and his brother Ricky piloted the Lucas Oil Racing TV machine into the second-place spot, securing him the 2020 points title. Bethany Nelson piloted her Sweet Revenge Chevy on a dominant 350+ foot run in Optima Batteries Super Modified Truck competition that secured her spot as the event winner and 2020 points champion, besting twenty-one other class foes at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks. Brandon Simon and the Slow Ride Chevy finished second in points with Misty Nelson in third piloting the Rhino Ag After Midnight Chevy.

2020 has been a year full of challenges and struggles but also some feel-good moments, and no where was it more apparent in MAC Trailer Pro Stock Tractor. Kevin Masterson and Darryl Folz took on the duties of running the Tinker Toy JD on behalf of Kevin’s father Don as he recovers from a farming accident earlier in the year. Combined with Kevin’s River Rat JD, the pair of Masterson tractors fought a hard battle for the title against class standout Peter Norton and the Money on Black JD. Norton entered Wheatland with a single-digit lead on the Tinker Toy and the River Rat sitting in third, requiring all three entries to make perfect passes for a title. Norton took an early lead in the class but Masterson hooked immediately after Norton on Tinker Toy and took the lead. Norton and Masterson would have to watch the rest of the class take their stab at the track to see how points would tabulate at the end of the evening; Masterson’s pass would stand up for the win and the points title, claimed in honor of Don as he watched from home on the Lucas Oil Racing TV livestream.

When discussing powerhouses in the world of Pro Modified Four Wheel Drive Truck pulling the name Terry Hagedorn is among those at the top of the list. Hagedorn’s Kickin Up Dust Chevy was the points leader coming into Wheatland and held on for the title with a second-place finish. Six inches separated the top three trucks with Ken Samet in first with his Illinois Thunder Chevy, Kickin Up Dust in second and Hagedorn in his second truck, the Gunpowder and Lead Chevy, taking third.

The final class for the session, and season, was the MAC Trailer Hot Rod Semi division. It was a three-truck race between Ryan DeBroux (Playin with Fire KW) Mitch Cloudt (Rubber Duck Mack) and Jon Rees (Diamond in the Rough Pete). In a doubleheader of competition, Cloudt made a declarative point by taking the win in the Friday and Saturday sessions for the points championship.